Chocolate cake in a cup – microwave recipe

6 Oct

Do you love chocolate? I’m a total chocoholic  and sometimes I need a quick fix for my cravings.  I usually make this cake in a cup since my husband doesn’t like chocolate at all . Yeah!Go figure! This cake is dark, a little gooey and warm. It will not taste like a regular cake, but its a quick fix. Try it out since it takes only two minutes to prepare and about a minute to make.  Once you’ve made this, try and experiment with tweaking some ingredients.If it works out, repost.

You will need:

1. A microwavable coffee cup

2. A small whisk ( that fits in the cup) or a fork

3.Powdered sugar – 2 tablespoons

4. Cocoa powder – 2 tablespoons ( replace with hot chocolate mix if you don’t like the dark chocolate taste)

5. Vanilla extract – Just 2 drops or if you have measuring spoons, half of 1/4 teaspoon

6. 1 small egg

7. and of course, a microwave…:p

8. Whipped cream or some chocolate sauce as topping if required.

You might be thinking that I left out the flour, well, there’s no flour in this recipe. Try it out!

Method:

Simple! Dump everything into the mug and then whisk away until you get rid of the lumps.Make sure that you scrape the bottom of the mug when mixing. 

Pop it in the microwave and bake  it for a minute on high. Don’t doubt the minute! That’s all it takes to  make this. Over baking it will ruin it! And that’s it. Its ready!!

I wanted a picture of the cup in the microwave but couldn’t get a good shot without my hand ( and camera ) visible.

And the result: 1 cup of chocolate cake and one very happy chocoholic!!!! :D. You can also add some whipped cream or some chocolate sauce to this. I like it just as it is. Let me know what you think.

8 Responses to “Chocolate cake in a cup – microwave recipe”

  1. Anu Chawla October 6, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Wow!! Seems so simple and quick! And to top it low cal!!! No oil no butter sounds fantastic for a chocolate addict like me too!!
    Will give it a shot at night and let you know:-)

    • thepinkruby October 6, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      Please do..and let me know How it turns out. If you want it more chocolaty, then add just a few ( maybe about five) chocolate chips or just chop /grate a piece of milk chocolate in it. Enjoy!!

  2. Mitch Tierman January 11, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    You have brought up a very fantastic details, thanks for the post.

  3. Liz Griffith January 24, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    Bravo!! I have tried 2 other chocolate cake in a cup recipes and this one was by far the best! I made a few adjustments- I did put in some chocolate chips- and then put in a few pcs of walnuts to make it more like a brownie. Then I sprinkled it with powdered sugar for the finish since I didn’t have any whipped cream. Simply delicious for a chocolate fix!

    • thepinkruby January 27, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

      Thank you for you comment!I’m going to try it with the walnuts next time! :-)

  4. place i kadry January 25, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Very useful post. It was very useful. I was searching exaxtly for this. Thank you for your effort. I hope you will write more such interesting posts.

  5. Tori September 11, 2012 at 2:49 am #

    Definately love this. I think my mistake was I did not use a small egg. So mine was very eggy. But other than that it was great!

    • thepinkruby November 15, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      Thank you Tori! Sorry for my delayed response. I haven’t been active online for a while. Hopefully that will change soon. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

